Books

Reading challenges – #ARCAugust

I’ve been loving reading challenges just lately – I’ve found them to be a great way of focusing my reading a bit more, at a time when I seem to be finding that difficult.

With a baby on the way in November, I’m finding myself increasingly distracted. This seems to happen to me whenever a big event is coming up – I remember feeling the same way when I got married. 

I do at least have a longer commute nowadays, so that tends to be when I get most of my reading done. But picking books seems to be really tricky at the moment – I start a book, I put it down, I can’t seem to work out what I’m in the mood to read from one day to the next. 

Reading challenges have helped me to both structure my reading and get out of my head at the same time, which has been really helpful. I recently took part in the 24 in 48 readathon and, even though I only managed 6 hours of reading, I really enjoyed myself and accomplished quite a bit in spite of a relatively busy weekend.

So after hearing about #ARCAugust, hosted by Read. Sleep. Repeat., I thought this would be a great opportunity to get through some of those NetGalley ARCs I’ve got sat on my Kindle.

Admittedly, I don’t have many, as I try to limit the number I request on Netgalley. But I do have a small backlog.

So here are the ones I’d really like to get to this month:

  1. The Golden House by Salman Rushdie
  2. The Roanoke Girls by Amy Engel
  3. Hamlet: Globe to Globe by Dominic Dromgoole

I actually don’t have a lot of info about any of these books, so I’m looking forward to going into this challenge with a blank slate. 

I’m hoping that aiming for three titles won’t be too ambitious, given I’ve got two other books I need to finish this month! But I’ll aim to finish these so I can get a post up about them at the end of the month.

What will you be reading for #ARCAugust?

2 thoughts on “Reading challenges – #ARCAugust

  1. Oooh I’ve heard some great things about the Roanoke Girls! I can’t wait to hear what you think about it! Good luck with the reading!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

