Books

WWW Wednesday – 21 June 2017

I don’t usually take part in memes, but I think this one sounds interesting and gives me a good way to share what I’m reading with other bloggers and find out what they’re reading too. This is hosted by Sam at Taking on a World of Words – thanks Sam!

If you want to take part, just answer the following three questions:
• What are you currently reading?
• What did you recently finish reading?
• What do you think you’ll read next?

What are you currently reading?

I’m reading Shine Shine Shine by Lydia Netzer, which I’m really enjoying, even though I’m less than a quarter of the way through it! So it’s still early days, but I’m hopeful so far – I was wondering if it’d be too “chick lit” for me (I’m not a big fan of that sort of fiction, and not sure I really appreciate the label), but it’s not at all.

What did you recently finish reading?

I recently finished reading The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry. This book came out over a year ago, so you might think I’m late to the party, but only a year late is pretty good for me!

I also wrapped up Siddhartha by Hermann Hesse, which I liked more than I expected to, even if I do wish I’d bought another edition – the Kindle version I read was so badly translated I found myself wishing I’d read it in the original German! It’s a very simple book at its core, but I think I missed something by reading a translation – I think the language in the original may have been more inspiring.

What will you read next?

I quite literally don’t know! I have such a hard time picking books to read in order, as by the time I’ve finished one book on my list, I’m keen to read something else and not what I’d originally decided on! I keep eying up my copy of The Heart Goes Last by Margaret Atwood, one of my all-time favourite writers. So that might (finally) be next. But if the library get back to me with a copy of Stay With Me by Ayobami Adebayo, I might have to prioritise that as it sounds excellent. Thanks to Inside My Library Mind for the recommendation!

One thing I’m definitely going to do in the next week or so is listen to Maya Angelou’s I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings on Audible. I’ve been neglecting audiobooks for a while now, but I think this is just the thing to get me out of my slump. I love the rhythm of her voice, so I won’t be tempted to toss it because of the annoying narrator!

So that’s my lot! I’d love to see everyone else’s posts, so please do send me a link if you’ve taken part.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday – 21 June 2017

  1. I heard an interview about The Essex Serpent on NPR the other day. I’m glad you liked it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    1. Thank you for bringing us book bloggers together! Yes I was pleasantly surprised by The Essex Serpent, really enjoyed it and would recommend it – I imagine most people have read it by now, I’m so slow at getting round to books!

      Like

Leave a Reply

