Uncategorized

What I’m reading and why I’ve been away so long…

IMG_20161223_122133_858

After two months of no blogging, I’m finally sitting down to write!

One of my resolutions for this year was to write on this blog more regularly, and I fell flat on my face with this one for the last two months! I’ve barely read anything, and I certainly was in no mood to blog about it, or to read any of the galleys I’d ordered. So I’m mega behind, and the reason is simple: I’m pregnant.

That may not sound like a great excuse, but pregnancy has knocked me for six – for approximately six weeks, I felt hellish – morning sickness and exhaustion completely wiped the floor with me! I have a 45-minute commute by train, and usually I’d get plenty of reading done, but I had to swap reading for concentrating on not throwing up on anyone whilst trying to stay awake and not miss my stop. I also came down with every illness going – stupid unbalanced hormones.

I’m into the second trimester now, and I’m feeling so much better – not exactly bounding with energy, but I’ll take it over whatever was happening to my body last trimester!

So all in all, it’s taken a huge chunk out of my reading time – I read loads on holiday, but as soon as I got back it all started to go downhill! But here are a few books that stood out for me over the past couple of months:

Chemistry – Weike Wang

I got this book through Netgalley, but it’s out now. I enjoyed this book – initially I wasn’t at all keen on the sparse syntax, but as the book progressed I came to appreciate the contrast between the simple sentences and scientific subject matter, and the parallels between love and science. I like the first-person perspective – the narrator was flawed (which is something I love), and the writer still managed to create really well-developed supporting characters.

My only complaint about this book is I would have liked a bit more substance to the storylines of the female characters – does everything really have to be all about the men? But this may be personal preference, I’m aware I have a habit of getting cross when the characters don’t behave how I want them to behave!

Faith Volume 1: Hollywood & Vine – Jody Houser

Here’s a graphic novel I loved really reading! I’m big on body positivity, and it was great for me to see a fat female superhero! I love my lady superheroes (I keep going on about this), but I do get a bit fed up with some of the super-sexist artwork – I don’t care what anyone says, if you’re saving the world from outer space villains, being half-naked is not practical!

It’s good fun, Faith is very relatable and there are lots of pop culture references that I enjoyed. The writing was good and I like the art style which fitted really well with the LA setting. I will definitely be getting the next volume.

A Study in Charlotte – Brittany Cavallaro

I’m not a massive YA fan (no-one hate me). But who can resist a re-imagining of Holmes and Watson? As it turned out, the gamble paid off – I loved it! While the mystery is hardly anything to rival the Arthur Conan Doyle stories, it really is smart and funny.

More than anything I really appreciated the author’s authentic depiction of teenagers – I’ve read too many books that make out teenagers exist in a vacuum. Teenagers have to deal with difficult issues, like drugs and sexual abuse, and Cavallaro handles it really well. It’s an excellent take on Holmes and Watson, and I’m probably going to pick up the next one at some point (I read books in a series super slowly).

So fingers crossed my reading mojo is officially back! I try not to panic when it goes walkabout, and it does happen periodically, but I try to remember it’s not the end of the world. I might be slightly more fed up when the baby comes along – I’ve no clue how I’m going to have time to wash, let alone eat! I’m sure I’ll figure it out…

Leave a Reply

