Reading challenges

Reading Challenges Update – Read Harder Challenge and #TakeControlThon

Mega-delayed update on how this year’s reading challenges are going! Please let me know how yours are going too, and if there are any others I might like to take part in – I love hearing about how other readers are challenging themselves!

Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge – two more books down!

Life’s been pretty busy lately, so I’m not as far along with this challenge as I’d like to be – but on a positive note, I’ve crossed two more categories off my list, so I’ve complete 4 books in total this year.

Task 13: a non-fiction book about technology

For this category I listened to Smarter Than You Think: How Technology is Changing Our Minds for the Better by Clive Thompson. I persevered with it on audio, but I didn’t find it very engaging to be honest – it wasn’t what I expected. It didn’t so much cover how technology is making us smarter, but listed the different ways technology can help us in life. I found the stuff about different teaching methods in schools really interesting, as this was more like what I’d expected, but there wasn’t enough of that sort of thing to keep me really hooked.

Task 11: a book set more than 5000 miles from your location

I chose The Inheritance of Loss by Kiran Desai for this task, it’s been sat on my shelf for years and since I’m still trying to read my own damn books this seemed like a good excuse to pick it up! I really liked certain aspects of this book, but overall wasn’t blown away by it – it’s too much of a “Man Booker book” for my liking – they always seem to be written in the same style to me. That said, I found the characters interesting (infuriating too, but that just made them more real for me) and the way she addressed the political unrest in India/Nepal in the 1980s was nicely done – the way it became all-pervasive, with no-one out of harm’s way, comes across effectively.

#TakeControlThon

When I heard about this short challenge hosted by Caffeinated Book Reviewer, I knew I had to take part! What a great excuse to make some headway with my TBR pile! I know as I publish this that it’s not technically over yet, but I’ve probably progressed as far as I will today (although I might sneak in another graphic novel yet…). I finished The Inheritance of Loss today, and Lazarus Volume 1, which if you haven’t read and you like kick-ass (but not overly sexualised) ladies in your comics, get this now – I’m a massive fan of Greg Rucka, he never disappoints! I will definitely be picking up volume 2!

So that’s my March update on reading challenges, I would love to hear about how yours are going. If you’re taking part in #TakeControlThon, I hope it is going well and that you are enjoying cracking on with your reading and eating plenty of snacks to sustain you. A book is better with snacks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

