Comics

Comics Corner – 3 comics I love featuring kick-ass ladies

Rejoice, more women than ever are reading and enjoying comics! I love comics that are written by or feature women, and there are loads available – here are my 3 favourites.

Paper Girls (Image Comics)

img_20160213_145305.jpgOk, so these are pre-teen girls rather than women, but that doesn’t stop them being awesome! It’s 1988, and the lives of 4 paper girls change forever on their paper route one morning – I won’t give anything away, but with great writing combined with beautiful colours and art, this is not to be missed! I’ve enjoyed reading this in issues – sometimes I prefer to wait for the trade paperback to come out, but this has been so well-paced, I’ve been eagerly anticipating each issue as it comes out. The characters are genuine, flawed and relatable, and will be loved by adults and young people alike.

Black Magick (Image Comics)

image

Supernatural cop drama with witches – what’s not to love?

Greg Rucka and Nicola Scott are truly a dream team! Rowan Black is the gritty heroine of the story, a detective and witch caught up in some strange goings on in Portsmouth. Rucka’s writing and the fabulous artwork by Scott combine to create a unique atmosphere which is both creepy and bewitching – you won’t want to put it down! I’ve found myself gazing adoringly at my collection on the odd occasion – not something I can say I usually do!

Black Canary (DC Comics)

img_20160213_150415.jpgI will say now that I don’t consider myself to be a huge DC fan (although the TV shows are a different matter!). But how exactly was I meant to resist Black Canary re-imagined as a the lead singer of a rock band?! I was intrigued…

And rightly so! It’s a great story with plenty of action, but the action is not the only great thing about this comic – the friendships between the characters are heart-warming, and the dialogue is witty (which, given Brenden Fletcher’s run on Batgirl, you would expect!)

Got to mention Annie Wu’s art too – it really feels like a rock n roll comic, and to me seems nothing like DC’s usual fare. So give it a go, even if you’re not a DC fan – you will not regret it!

So that’s 3 of my favourites at the moment! What comics have you enjoyed lately? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “Comics Corner – 3 comics I love featuring kick-ass ladies

Leave a Reply

